About The South Downs SCITT

We are excited to share with you the opportunity to train to teach with The South Downs SCITT (School Centred Initial Teacher Training).

We are a group of schools working in collaboration to train the best teachers.

Meet The Team

Name Role Email
Lianne Allison SCITT Director lallison@thesouthdownsscitt.co.uk
Melanie Wright SCITT Co-ordinator mwright@thesouthdownsscitt.co.uk
Jo Hodson-Prior SCITT Manager/Secondary Lead jhodsonprior@thesouthdownsscitt.co.uk
Ann Yates Primary Lead ayates@thesouthdownsscitt.co.uk
Gillian Almond Primary Tutor galmond@thesouthdownsscitt.co.uk
Nicola Upperton Mathematics Tutor nupperton@thesouthdownsscitt.co.uk
Fin McConville Computing Tutor fmcconville@thesouthdownsscitt.co.uk
Naomi Bridgeman- Sweeney English Tutor nbridgeman-sweeney@thesouthdownsscitt.co.uk
Paulina Hollender MFL Tutor phollender@thesouthdownsscitt.co.uk
Pete Gwynn PE Tutor pgwynn@thesouthdownsscitt.co.uk
Emily Clements Science Tutor eclements@thesouthdownsscitt.co.uk
Leanne Kelly History Tutor lkelly@thesouthdownsscitt.co.uk
Hannah Knox Geography Tutor hknox@thesouthdownsscitt.co.uk
Jemma Pratt Drama Tutor jpratt@thesouthdownsscitt.co.uk
Vicky Scales Drama Tutor vscales@thesouthdownsscitt.co.uk
Tina Goodman Professional Studies Tutor tgoodman@thesouthdownsscitt.co.uk
Penny Meaney Behaviour and Inclusion Tutor pmeaney@thesouthdownsscitt.co.uk
Jo Scammell SEND Tutor jscammell@thesouthdownsscitt.co.uk
Hilary Kemp Study Skills Tutor hkemp@thesouthdownsscitt.co.uk

 

 lianne picture

Lianne Allison

Director and Science Tutor

Email Lianne

Jo HP

Jo Hodson-Prior

SCITT Manager/Secondary Lead

Email Jo

Alison pic

 

 

Melanie Wright

SCITT Co-ordinator

Email Melanie

Our Partner Schools

Our training places for primary and secondary are to be found across our partnership of schools:

All of our places are offered through The South Downs SCITT.  Our PGCE is awarded by The University of Chichester. The South Downs SCITT provides a true partnership between 18 schools in order to provide the very best training. You will have access to the facilities at the University and the facilities in the schools.

Our Programme:

You will have a day each week working with other trainees to reflect and develop your practice and four days each week training on the job working with the young people in our locality. We provide a high quality cross phase and bespoke training programme which is full time for one year and commences in September. Upon successful completion of your training you will be awarded Qualified Teacher Status.  You will also be awarded a Post Graduate Certificate of Education (PGCE) from The University of Chichester.

You will teach across two consecutive age ranges/phases and experience teaching in at least two contrasting schools as well as completing a few days with Special Needs. Some of our training programmes are located in Special Needs Schools: Oak Grove College (Secondary) and Palatine School (Primary). You will be provided with a laptop for the length of your training.

Details of 2018 offer:

All applications are through UCAS.

The South Downs School Direct Partnership:  You apply directly to a school through The South Downs School Direct Partnership – code 2GH

SCITT: You apply to The South Downs SCITT and we place you in our Partnership Schools – code 2AZ

 

 

Phase

School Direct Schools Available

School Direct  2GH

UCAS CODES

SCITT   

2AZ

UCAS Codes

 

Primary

 

 

 

 

Clapham & Patching C of E Primary School

 

East Preston Junior School

 

St John The Baptist C of E Primary School

 

St Wilfrid’s Catholic Primary School

 

Summerlea Community Primary School

 

Vale School

 

3625 2Y3L

 

Phase School Direct Schools Available

 

School Direct

2GH

UCAS CODES

SCITT

2AZ

UCAS Codes

 

Secondary The Angmering School

Durrington High School

The Littlehampton Academy

Mathematics

362S

 

Mathematics

2Y39

The Angmering School

Durrington High School

The Littlehampton Academy

English

362R

 

English

2Y3B

 

The Angmering School

Durrington High School

The Littlehampton Academy

Biology

364R

 

Biology

35WC

The Angmering School

Durrington High School

The Littlehampton Academy

Chemistry

364S

 

Chemistry

35WF

The Angmering School

Durrington High School

The Littlehampton Academy

Physics

364T

Physics

2Y3F

 

The Angmering School

Durrington High School

Computing

364Q

Computing

35WG

The Angmering School

Shoreham Academy

MFL (French/German)

* see below

MFL (French/German)

*see below

The Angmering School MFL (Spanish/German)

*see below

MFL (Spanish/German)

*see below

The Angmering School

Durrington High School

Shoreham Academy

The Littlehampton Academy

MFL (Spanish/French)

*see below

 

MFL (Spanish/French)

*see below

The Angmering School

Durrington High School

The Littlehampton Academy

Art & Design

364P

The Angmering School

Durrington High School

Drama

364N

The Angmering School

Durrington High School

The Littlehampton Academy

History

362Z

 

History

35WJ

The Angmering School

Durrington High School

The Littlehampton School

Geography

362Y

 

Geography

35WH

The Angmering School

Durrington High School

Shoreham Academy

The Littlehampton Academy

PE

362X

PE

35WM

 

*Modern Foreign Languages

Please note that if you are applying for MFL, the requirement is that you have two languages, in one of the following combinations:

 

  • French/German
  • German/Spanish
  • French/Spanish

 

When applying, please select either:

 

 

Subject School Direct – 2GH

UCAS CODES

SCITT – 2AZ

UCAS Codes

MFL (German) School Direct 362V SCITT 2Z23
MFL (Spanish) School Direct 362T SCITT 2Z24
MFL (French) School Direct 362W SCITT 2Z22