About The South Downs SCITT

We are excited to share with you the opportunity to train to teach with The South Downs SCITT (School Centred Initial Teacher Training).

We are a group of schools working in collaboration to train the best teachers.

Meet The Team

Name Role Email
Lianne Allison SCITT Director lallison@southdownsscitt.co.uk
Melanie Wright SCITT Co-ordinator mwright@southdownsscitt.co.uk
Louise Longhurst SCITT Manager/Secondary Lead llonghurst@southdownsscitt.co.uk
Ann Yates Primary Lead ayates@southdownsscitt.co.uk
Kirsty Abbott Mathematics Tutor kabbott@southdownsscitt.co.uk
Fin McConville Computing Tutor fmcconville@southdownsscitt.co.uk
Debbie Kirk English Tutor dkirk@southdownsscitt.co.uk
Emma Bilbrough MFL Tutor ebilborough@southdownsscitt.co.uk
Ian Gooding PE Tutor igooding@southdownsscitt.co.uk
Emily Clements Science Tutor eclements@southdownsscitt.co.uk
Hannah Knox Geography Tutor hknox@southdownscitt.co.uk
Jemma Pratt Drama Tutor jpratt@southdownscitt.co.uk
Vicky Scales Drama Tutor vscales@southdownsscitt.co.uk

 

Our Partner Schools

Our training places for primary and secondary are to be found across our partnership of schools:

The Angmering School
http://www.angmeringschool.co.uk

Clapham and Patching CofE Primary School
http://www.claphamandpatching.co.uk

Davison High School
www.davison.w-sussex.sch.uk

Durrington High School
http://www.durringtonhigh.w-sussex.sch.uk

East Preston Infant School
http://www.eastpreston-inf.w-sussex.sch.uk

East Preston Junior School
http://www.epjs.co.uk

Ferring CofE Primary School
http://www.ferring.w-sussex.sch.uk

Georgian Gardens Community Primary School
www.georgiangardens.w-sussex.sch.uk

Holmbush Primary Academy
www.holmbushprimaryacademy.org.uk/

Oak Grove College
oakgrovecollege.org.uk

Palatine School
palatineschool.org

River Beach Primary School
www.riverbeach.w-sussex.sch.uk

Shoreham Academy
www.shoreham-academy.org

St John the Baptist CofE Primary School

www.stjbps.co.uk

St Margaret’s CofE Primary School
www.stmargaretsprimary.org.uk

St Wilfrid’s Catholic Primary School
www.stwilfridsangmering.co.uk

Summerlea CP School
www.summerlea.w-sussex.sch.uk

The Littlehampton Academy
http://www.tla.woodard.co.uk/

The Orchards Community Middle School
www.orchards.w-sussex.sch.uk

Vale School

www.vale.w-sussex.sch.uk

All of our places are offered through The South Downs SCITT.  Our PGCE is awarded by The University of Chichester. The South Downs SCITT provides a true partnership between 20 schools in order to provide the very best training. You will have access to the facilities at the University and the facilities in the schools.

Our Programme:

You will have a day each week working with other trainees to reflect and develop your practice and four days each week training on the job working with the young people in our locality. We provide a high quality cross phase and bespoke training programme which is full time for one year and commences in September. Upon successful completion of your training you will be awarded Qualified Teacher Status.  You will also be awarded a Post Graduate Certificate of Education (PGCE) from The University of Chichester.

You will teach across two consecutive age ranges/phases and experience teaching in at least two contrasting schools as well as completing a few days in each of the corresponding Key Stages and Special Needs. If you wish your training programmes can be located in Special Needs Schools: Oak Grove College (Secondary) and Palatine School (Primary).